SummerTimeShare is designed to let you share your summer schedule with the people you want.
How SummerTimeShare will Use, Display, Share, or Transfer Data We Collect From Facebook
When you log-in to SummerTimeShare, your first name, last name, gender, email address, link to Facebook profile, and Facebook ID will be stored in our database. We use and display this information to create the page for your share and to create the calendar of the summer (if you have enabled us to do so based on your privacy settings, see below). We will never share this information with a 3rd party. We will share this information, however, with other people in your share, and (if you have enabled us to do so) your name, picture, and link to your Facebook profile will be visible to others on the "All Shares" tab.
During your use of SummerTimeShare, we will retrieve a list of your Facebook friends for the purpose of creating a function to add friends as guests or participants to your share. We do not store this list of your Facebook friends, and it is not logged by our servers. It is only retrieved (in real-time) while you are logged-in to the app, and once you log-out we are no longer able to retrieve this list.
Finally, we will retrieve a list of your Facebook Events for the purpose of linking events in SummerTimeShare to Facebook Events. However, we do not store the list of your events in our database. (If you add a Facebook Event to your share, we will store basic information about the event in our database: an identifier, start time, end time, title, description, location of event).
When you first agree to share your email address, we will put you on the list of people who receive feature announcements (we send these regularly but never more than once a week). You can remove yourself at any time by going to your Privacy Settings and unchecking the "I'd like to receive feature announcements" setting.
You can choose how public you want your share's schedule to be, whether or not to show who is skipping which weekends, and whether or not to allow sharemates to list their weekends for sale on the open marketplace.
This global setting applies to your share and determines who can see your share's listing on the "All Shares" tab.
In addition to this setting, each user has a privacy setting for even finer control of who can see your individual schedule (including which weeks you are skipping): Everyone, Friends of sharemates, Just Facebook friends, or Just sharemates.
You can revoke your email address at any time and we will delete it from our database -- it's part of Facebook's rules about how we're allowed to use your data, here.
Your email address is never shared with 3rd parties without your consent, and you will receive email from SummerTimeShare only about your use of the app. (For example, to notify you a housemate has put up a weekend for swap.)
If you set your personal privacy setting to Everyone, Friends of sharemates, or Just Facebook friends, your schedule will be available to 3rd party applications
who already know your email address
using the SummerTimeShare API.
How does that work? A 3rd party app can encrypt your email address, send it to us, and if we find a match we'll respond with your schedule (unless your schedule privacy is set to "Just sharemates").
Because the email address is encrypted, the 3rd party knows we can't store the email address they are supplying to us. Furthermore, we aren't giving out your email addrses to 3rd parties -- they must already have it to use the API.
For complete information about the SummerTimeShare Double Blind API, click "API" in the footer.